Refund DeskLast checked August 24, 2026New system starts November 1, 20266 things the government has not published yet

This page is written for English-speaking travellers going to Japan.

What you are buyingLast checked September 2, 2026

Japan Tax-Free vs Your Own Duty-Free Allowance in 2026

Two different systems get confused constantly: the Japanese consumption tax refunded on your purchase, and whatever your own country charges when you land. Here is which is which, and which one changes on November 1, 2026.

Two systems get treated as one. The first refunds Japanese consumption tax on a qualifying purchase of ¥5,000 before tax, and it changes on November 1, 2026 — Japan Tourism Agency (checked August 19, 2026).

The second is whatever your own country charges when you arrive home. Nothing Japan does on November 1, 2026 touches it.

Are these the same thing?

No, and almost nothing about them overlaps. Different tax, different authority, different paperwork, different place.

  • Japan's tax-free system decides whether Japanese consumption tax comes back to you.
  • Your own country's allowance decides whether your country charges you on arrival.

A purchase can qualify in Japan and still be taxable when you land. Both can be true at once, and neither cancels the other.

What does Japan's system actually decide?

  • Whether the purchase qualifies — ¥5,000 before tax, per buyer, per shop, per day.
  • Whether the goods leave Japan with you, confirmed at departure.
  • How much comes back — one eleventh of the tax-included price.
  • By when — 90 days from the purchase date.

That is the whole scope. It is a Japanese tax being refunded on Japanese soil, and it ends when you leave — Japan Customs (checked August 19, 2026).

Who decides what happens when you land?

The customs authority of the country you are entering. Japan does not set it, does not publish it, and the confirmation you did at a Japanese airport does not travel with you as a permission.

Because the figures differ by country and change independently, this site does not state them. Check the customs authority of your own destination.

Which of the two changes on November 1, 2026?

  • Only the Japanese side. The general goods and consumables split is abolished, so one shop on one day is one total.
  • The sealed bag is gone, so purchases can be used during the trip.
  • The tax returns after the customs confirmation rather than at the register.
  • Your own country's allowance is untouched by any of it.
  • The former daily ceiling on consumables is abolished.

Why does confusing them cost money?

Because people plan the trip around the wrong number. Someone buys heavily in Japan believing the Japanese refund settles everything, then meets a charge on arrival that was always going to be there.

The reverse also happens: a traveller skips a qualifying purchase because of a rule that belongs to their own country's arrival process, not to the shop in front of them.

What has not changed?

  • The minimum is ¥5,000 before tax — ¥5,500 on a tax-included tag.
  • Receipts from different shops never combine.
  • The passport has to be presented before payment is finalised.
  • The goods have to leave Japan with the buyer.
  • Separate shipment was abolished at the end of March 2025.

When does this come up?

You are planning how much to buy

Plan the Japanese side from the rules above, and check your own arrival rules separately. They are two different budgets.

Someone tells you the refund covers everything

It covers Japanese consumption tax on the purchase. It says nothing about your arrival.

You are buying gifts for people at home

The goods have to leave Japan with you, and what happens when they arrive is your own country's question.

You did the confirmation at the airport

That confirms the goods left Japan. It is not a document about your own country's charges.

You are comparing prices with home

One eleventh of the tax-included price is the Japanese saving. Any arrival charge sits on the other side of the ledger.

You are buying one expensive item

A purchase of ¥1,000,000 or more needs a serial number or similar registered at the shop for the Japanese side, and your arrival rules are separate again.

You are travelling as a family

Japan counts per passport at the register. Your own country counts however your own country counts.

You are told to keep the packaging

That is for the Japanese confirmation, where the goods may be asked for. It is not an arrival requirement.

You are flying home through a third country

The Japanese confirmation happens where you leave Japan. Everything after that belongs to the countries you enter.

You are reading a page that mixes the two

A page that gives an allowance figure alongside the Japanese rules is describing two systems as if they were one.

You want to be sure before you buy

The Japanese side is knowable from the sources below. The arrival side is knowable from your own customs authority.

You are shopping on your last day in Japan

The Japanese side still needs the passport at the register and the goods with you at departure. Your arrival rules do not become easier because the purchase was late.

You are coming back to Japan within the 90 days

The Japanese deadline runs from each purchase date regardless of how many trips you make. Your own country counts each arrival its own way.

What is unannounced as of August 19, 2026?

On the Japanese side, whether a handling fee is deducted, how many days the refund takes, where the terminals are placed, whether cash remains available and how the reduced rate is treated are unannounced as of August 19, 2026. Answers would appear via the Japan Tax-free Shop Association (checked August 19, 2026) or the Japan Tourism Agency (checked August 19, 2026).

Nothing about another country's arrival rules is unannounced by Japan, because Japan never set it. That question belongs to the customs authority of the country you are entering.

Questions people ask

Is the Japanese refund the same as duty free at the airport shop?

No. The refund is Japanese consumption tax on a qualifying purchase made in Japan.

Does the Japanese confirmation exempt me at home?

No. It confirms the goods left Japan.

How much can I bring into my own country?

Your own customs authority decides that, and this site does not state figures for it.

Does November 1, 2026 change my arrival rules?

No. It changes the Japanese system only.

What is the Japanese minimum?

¥5,000 before tax, per buyer, per shop, per day.

How much does Japan refund?

One eleventh of the tax-included price, before any deduction that may exist.

Do I still need to carry the goods?

Yes. They have to leave Japan with you.

Can I post the goods home instead?

No. Separate shipment was abolished at the end of March 2025.

Does the sealed bag still exist?

It is abolished on November 1, 2026.

Where do I check the Japanese rules?

The Japan Tourism Agency and Japan Customs.

Where do I check my arrival rules?

The customs authority of the country you are entering.

Can both apply to the same item?

Yes. A refunded purchase in Japan can still meet a charge on arrival.

Do I have to declare the purchase when I land?

Your own country's arrival process decides that. The Japanese confirmation is a separate step and does not replace it.

Can I claim the Japanese refund after I get home?

No. The confirmation happens at departure from Japan, and the deadline is 90 days from the purchase date.

Will the shop explain my own country's rules?

Shops handle the Japanese side. Arrival rules are outside what a Japanese shop administers.

Does a bigger Japanese refund mean a bigger charge at home?

The two are calculated by different authorities on different bases, so one does not set the other.

Sources

  1. Japan Tourism AgencyChecked checked August 19, 2026
  2. Japan CustomsChecked checked August 19, 2026
  3. the Japan Tax-free Shop AssociationChecked checked August 19, 2026

The arithmetic, done for you in the shop

The threshold is ¥5,000 before tax, per shop, per day, and receipts from different shops never combine. The Refund Japan app is being built to hold your list, tell you when a basket clears the threshold, keep receipts together and follow each refund until it lands.

Planned release: October 1, 2026. There is nothing to download yet and no waiting list — this site does not collect email addresses.

What the app will do

Read next

If that did not answer it

Nothing here is tax or legal advice, and every amount is the maximum before any handling fee. The rules can change; each page carries the date we last checked it against the primary sources. How we decide what to publish