---
title: "Japan Tax-Free 2026: Does a Luxury Bag Over ¥1,000,000 Need an Extra Step?"
description: "A bag of ¥1,000,000 or more needs a serial number or similar details registered, and from November 1, 2026 the tax returns only after the customs check."
lang: en
canonical: https://refund-japan.com/articles/luxury-bags
published: 2026-09-25
updated: 2026-09-25
publisher: "Refund Japan"
---

# Japan Tax-Free 2026: Does a Luxury Bag Over ¥1,000,000 Need an Extra Step?

> A bag of ¥1,000,000 or more needs a serial number or similar details registered, and from November 1, 2026 the tax returns only after the customs check.

Last checked: 2026-09-25

A bag bought tax-free in Japan for ¥1,000,000 or more needs one record that a cheaper purchase does not: a serial number or similar identifying details have to be registered, alongside the passport the purchase is recorded against — [Japan Tourism Agency](https://www.mlit.go.jp/kankocho/tax-free/page01_000001_00019.html) (checked August 19, 2026).

From November 1, 2026 you also pay the full tax-included price in the shop and receive the tax only after the customs confirmation as you leave Japan, so the whole price of the bag stays spent until then.

Japan's consumption tax is 10%, and it is already inside the price on the tag — [Japan Tourism Agency](https://www.mlit.go.jp/kankocho/tax-free/page01_000001_00019.html) (checked August 19, 2026). The most that can come back is one-eleventh of the tax-included price, counted before any deduction, and whether a deduction is taken at all is not published as of August 19, 2026 — [why the tax share is one-eleventh](https://refund-japan.com/articles/one-eleventh).

Three points weigh more on a bag than on most purchases: whether the ¥1,000,000 line is measured per item or across a whole receipt, whether it is read before or after tax, and what counts as "similar details" on a bag that shows no serial number. The published material we checked does not state any of the three as of August 19, 2026. The question therefore belongs at the sales counter, before the card comes out.

## How does the ¥1,000,000 registration fit into a tax-free bag purchase?

The registration is one extra record inside the same 5-step route that every tax-free purchase follows from November 1, 2026.

1. **The passport comes out at the counter.** The original passport is presented when you buy, and the purchase is recorded against that traveller — [the original passport at the till](https://refund-japan.com/articles/passport-original-only).
2. **A purchase of ¥1,000,000 or more adds a registration.** A serial number or similar identifying details are registered for it. At what point in the sale this happens, and who enters it, is not stated in the published material as of August 19, 2026.
3. **You pay the tax-included price.** The amount on the tag is what leaves your card, and nothing is taken off at the till — [reading a tax-included tag](https://refund-japan.com/articles/price-tag-reading).
4. **The bag leaves Japan with you within 90 days of the purchase date.** At departure a customs terminal reads your passport: Green means you continue, Red means the goods themselves are shown — [what Green and Red mean](https://refund-japan.com/articles/green-or-red).
5. **The refund follows the customs confirmation.** The published routes for the money are set out in [the refund routes](https://refund-japan.com/articles/refund-methods).

"Tax-free" on this page means the consumption tax refund on goods bought in town, not the duty-free shops past airport security — [the two terms side by side](https://refund-japan.com/articles/tax-free-vs-duty-free-words).

## What changes for a luxury bag on November 1, 2026?

- **The full price is paid in the shop.** From November 1, 2026 the tax-included price is charged at the counter and the tax comes back after the customs confirmation at departure, which weighs most on the largest purchase of a trip — [Japan Tourism Agency](https://www.mlit.go.jp/kankocho/tax-free/page01_000001_00019.html) (checked August 19, 2026).
- **A bag and anything else from the same shop on the same day form one figure.** The former split between general goods and consumables ends, and purchases are no longer sealed into special packaging.
- **The purchase date decides which system applies.** A purchase dated October 31, 2026 or earlier follows the earlier system, where the tax is taken off at the register; a purchase dated November 1, 2026 or later follows the new one, with no transition period — [a purchase dated October 31, 2026](https://refund-japan.com/articles/october-31-purchase).

The rest of the switch is listed in [the November 2026 changes](https://refund-japan.com/articles/rule-change-nov-2026).

## What does a ¥1,000,000 price tag leave unchanged?

- **The passport shown at purchase decides whose purchase it is.** A higher price does not move the bag into anyone else's name — [paying for a bag meant for another person](https://refund-japan.com/articles/buying-for-someone-else).
- **The 90 days run from the purchase date.** A bag of ¥1,000,000 or more has the same 90 days to leave Japan and pass the customs confirmation as any other purchase — [Japan Tourism Agency](https://www.mlit.go.jp/kankocho/tax-free/page01_000001_00019.html) (checked August 19, 2026).
- **The departure step reads the passport.** Green or Red appears at the terminal, and a Red result asks for the bag itself — [Japan Customs](https://www.customs.go.jp/) (checked August 19, 2026).

## When does the extra step for a bag over ¥1,000,000 show up on a trip?

### The tag on a single bag already reads ¥1,000,000 or more

One bag at one price is the easiest case to raise, because there is a single item to point at when you ask. A purchase of ¥1,000,000 or more needs a serial number or similar details registered, so this bag's record carries them. Keep the passport out until the sale is finished and there is no pause while it is found again.

### A bag just under the line and a wallet at the same counter

Two items that each sit below ¥1,000,000 can add up past it on one receipt. Whether the registration is set off by a single item or by the total is not stated in the published material as of August 19, 2026. This is the scene where asking before paying changes something. The person to ask is the one ringing up that sale.

### The bag floor and the cosmetics floor of a department store on one afternoon

A department store can hold a leather goods floor and a cosmetics floor under one roof, and a bag and a skincare haul often land on the same day. Whether the 2 floors count as one shop is a question for that store's staff, and whether their totals would ever meet at the ¥1,000,000 line is a second question behind it — [what counts as one shop](https://refund-japan.com/articles/same-store-definition) and [cosmetics near the ¥1,000,000 line](https://refund-japan.com/articles/cosmetics-1000000-line).

### No serial number is visible anywhere on the bag

Identifying codes on bags sit in different places — an inner tag, a stamped leather label, a card in the box — and some bags show none a buyer can find. What counts as "similar details" where no serial number exists is not stated in the published material as of August 19, 2026. Ask the sales assistant which detail they are recording, and keep the box, card and tags together with the bag until the sale is done.

### A matching pouch or strap is sold with the bag as one set

A set rung up as one line raises the per-item question in a different shape. Whether such a set is read as one item or as its parts against the ¥1,000,000 line is not stated in the published material as of August 19, 2026. If the pouch is optional, asking before the set is scanned is less work than changing the sale afterwards.

### The bag is pre-owned and bought at a resale shop

The published line is written as an amount, ¥1,000,000 or more, and the material we checked says nothing about new or pre-owned goods as of August 19, 2026. Whether the resale shop takes part in tax-free sales at all belongs to that shop, and a shop outside the arrangement cannot record a purchase afterwards — [a shop that is not tax-free](https://refund-japan.com/articles/shop-not-tax-free). Pre-owned bags sometimes come without their original cards or boxes. The serial number question above then becomes more likely.

### The card has to carry the whole price on the day

From November 1, 2026 the counter charges the tax-included price, so a bag of ¥1,000,000 or more puts its full amount on the card at once, and the tax share comes back only after departure. A limit set for everyday travel spending can fall short of one bag. Checking the limit with the card issuer before the trip avoids a stop at the counter — [paying by card or another method](https://refund-japan.com/articles/payment-method) and [budgeting for the full price first](https://refund-japan.com/articles/budgeting-refund).

### Your partner pays for the bag with their own passport

The purchase is recorded against the passport presented at the counter, so a bag your partner pays for is your partner's purchase. Your partner is also the one who leaves Japan with it within 90 days and goes through the customs terminal. How purchases inside a family are treated is covered in [combining purchases within a family](https://refund-japan.com/articles/family-combining) and [paying for someone else's bag](https://refund-japan.com/articles/buying-for-someone-else).

### The bag is a present for someone who lives in Japan

A tax-free bag is bought on the condition that it leaves Japan with the buyer within 90 days of the purchase date. Handing it to a relative or friend who stays in Japan does not fit that condition. The arrangement itself is for non-residents staying under six months — [giving a tax-free item away in Japan](https://refund-japan.com/articles/gave-item-away-in-japan) and [the six-month stay rule](https://refund-japan.com/articles/six-month-rule).

### You are choosing between October 31 and November 1, 2026

A bag bought on October 31, 2026 follows the earlier system, in which the tax is taken off at the register. A bag bought on November 1, 2026 follows the new one: the full price at the counter and the tax back after the customs confirmation. No transition period sits between them. A trip that straddles the date can hold purchases under both — [a trip across the switch](https://refund-japan.com/articles/trip-straddling).

### The bag is bought in the first days of a long trip

The 90 days count from the purchase date, not from the day you landed. A bag bought early in a long stay can sit close to that edge by the time the return flight leaves — [counting the 90 days](https://refund-japan.com/articles/counting-90-days). If plans change and the stay grows, the date to watch is still the purchase date — [when a stay gets longer](https://refund-japan.com/articles/stay-extended).

### Deciding whether the bag rides in the cabin or in the hold

A Red result at the customs terminal asks for the goods themselves, and a bag checked in before that step is out of reach. Where the terminal sits relative to check-in at each airport is not published as of August 19, 2026. Keeping the bag in cabin baggage until the confirmation works whichever way the airport turns out to be laid out — [a checked bag before the terminal](https://refund-japan.com/articles/checked-bag-before-terminal) and [cabin and hold baggage](https://refund-japan.com/articles/luggage-and-carry-on).

### The box, dust bag and shopping bag take up half a suitcase

From November 1, 2026 purchases are not sealed into special packaging. Whether the original box has to travel with the bag is not stated in the published material as of August 19, 2026, and what a Red result asks for is the goods — [packing for a Red result](https://refund-japan.com/articles/red-result-preparation) and [opening packaging before departure](https://refund-japan.com/articles/opening-the-package-before-departure). Keeping the card or tag that carries the recorded detail with the bag costs nothing.

### The name on your card is spelled differently from your passport

A large refund makes the account it lands in matter more. How a difference between the card name and the passport name is handled is not published as of August 19, 2026. Paying with a card in the same spelling as the passport removes one open question from the trip — [a name that does not match](https://refund-japan.com/articles/name-mismatch) and [the account the refund reaches](https://refund-japan.com/articles/whose-account).

## What is not published about bags over ¥1,000,000?

Three open points sit directly under a purchase of this size.

- **How the ¥1,000,000 line is read.** Per item or per receipt, before or after tax, and what counts as "similar details" on a bag are not stated in the published material as of August 19, 2026. Asking at the sales counter before paying is the only route to an answer for a given sale.
- **Whether anything is deducted from the refund.** Whether a fee applies, and at what rate, is not published as of August 19, 2026, which leaves one-eleventh as an upper figure rather than a promise — [a possible deduction](https://refund-japan.com/articles/handling-fee).
- **How many days the money takes.** The time between the customs confirmation and the payment is not published as of August 19, 2026 — [days until the refund](https://refund-japan.com/articles/refund-days).

Terminal placement at each airport and the handling of name differences are open in the same way as of August 19, 2026, and the full list sits in [the open points as a set](https://refund-japan.com/articles/not-published-yet). Wording that settles any of them would appear through [the Japan Tax-free Shop Association](https://zenmenkyo.jp/refund/) (checked August 19, 2026) or the Japan Tourism Agency. Whatever appears is logged in [the announcement tracker](https://refund-japan.com/articles/announcement-tracker).

## Which questions follow from buying a bag over ¥1,000,000?

### Is the ¥1,000,000 counted per bag or across the whole receipt?

The published material we checked does not say which, as of August 19, 2026. Ask the counter that is ringing up the sale before you pay.

### Is the ¥1,000,000 measured before tax or with tax included?

The tax basis for the line is not stated in the published material as of August 19, 2026 either — [reading a tax-included tag](https://refund-japan.com/articles/price-tag-reading).

### What gets registered for a bag with no serial number?

A purchase of ¥1,000,000 or more needs a serial number or similar details registered, but what counts as similar details where no number exists is not stated as of August 19, 2026. Ask the sales assistant which detail they are recording.

### Do I have to register anything myself?

Your part is presenting the original passport at purchase. Who enters the serial number or similar details, and when, is not stated in the published material as of August 19, 2026.

### Is a bag over ¥1,000,000 more likely to get a Red result?

Whether price plays any part in the result is not stated in the published material as of August 19, 2026. If Red appears, the bag itself is shown — [the customs terminal step](https://refund-japan.com/articles/customs-terminal).

### Can the shop ship the bag to my home country instead?

Separate overseas shipping of tax-free goods was abolished at the end of March 2025, so the bag leaves Japan with you within 90 days of the purchase date.

### Can a travel companion pay for the bag on my behalf?

The purchase is recorded against the passport presented at the counter, so it becomes the purchase of whoever pays with their passport. That person is also the one who leaves Japan with the bag within 90 days.

### Is anything deducted from a refund this large?

Whether a deduction applies is not published as of August 19, 2026 — [a possible deduction](https://refund-japan.com/articles/handling-fee).

### How many days until the refund reaches me?

The number of days between the customs confirmation and the payment is not published as of August 19, 2026.

### Will the refund go through if my card spelling differs from my passport?

How a name difference is handled is not published as of August 19, 2026. Paying with a card in the same spelling as the passport keeps the question out of play.

### Does the ¥5,000 minimum still apply to a bag?

Yes. The minimum is ¥5,000 before tax at one store on one day, which shows as 5,500 yen on a tax-included tag — [Japan Tourism Agency](https://www.mlit.go.jp/kankocho/tax-free/page01_000001_00019.html) (checked August 19, 2026). How that line is applied is covered in [the ¥5,000 minimum](https://refund-japan.com/articles/minimum-5000-tax-included).

### How much of the bag's price can come back?

At most one-eleventh of the tax-included price, which is the 10% consumption tax inside it. Whether a deduction applies is not published as of August 19, 2026, so the actual amount may land below that upper figure — [the one-eleventh calculation](https://refund-japan.com/articles/one-eleventh).

### Does a bag bought on October 31, 2026 go through the same steps?

A purchase dated October 31, 2026 or earlier follows the earlier system, where the tax is taken off at the register. This page covers purchases from November 1, 2026 — [a purchase dated October 31, 2026](https://refund-japan.com/articles/october-31-purchase).

### Should the bag go in checked baggage?

A Red result asks for the goods themselves, so keeping the bag with you until the customs confirmation is the safer arrangement. Where the terminal sits at each airport is not published as of August 19, 2026.

### Does a pre-owned bag need the registration too?

The line is written as an amount of ¥1,000,000 or more, and the published material we checked says nothing about new or pre-owned goods as of August 19, 2026. Confirm with the shop, including whether it handles tax-free sales at all.

### Do watches and other items over ¥1,000,000 follow the same line?

The registration is written for purchases of ¥1,000,000 or more, not for bags alone — [watches bought in Japan](https://refund-japan.com/articles/watches) and [cameras and lenses](https://refund-japan.com/articles/cameras).

## Sources

- [Japan Tourism Agency](https://www.mlit.go.jp/kankocho/tax-free/page01_000001_00019.html) — checked August 19, 2026
- [Japan Customs](https://www.customs.go.jp/) — checked August 19, 2026
- [the Japan Tax-free Shop Association](https://zenmenkyo.jp/refund/) — checked August 19, 2026
